Briefly explained

Medical Cannabis - History and Botany.

The use of phytocannabinoids as a form of therapy is nothing new. Here you will find a brief summary of the exciting history of this unique plant and an explanation of its botanical properties.

History

One of the oldest medicinal plants - Used, forgotten and rediscovered.

The cannabis plant (Cannabis Sativa L.) is one of the oldest medicinal plants in the world and has been used for thousands of years by different people and cultures for therapeutic and cultic purposes. The oldest prescription was found in Egypt in 1500 BC in the Ebers Papyrus - a poultice with Cannabis Sativa for ophthalmological purposes and against inflammation. The first recorded therapeutic use in Europe was in 1840 by an Irish physician named William O'Shaughnessy. However, interest in the potent medicinal plant was lost again. Lack of knowledge about the exact composition and active ingredients meant that there was no common consensus on correct dosage. Frequent over- and underdoses led to a general uncertainty about the therapeutic benefits of the plant. By the end of the 19th century, the general focus returned to closely analyzing the chemical structure of the cannabis plant and identifying the plant's mechanisms of action. However, the chemical composition of the plant did not make this easy: a wide variety of cannabinoids with very similar chemical structures posed a great challenge to the technology of the time. Finally, in 1964, Israeli scientists Yehiel Gaoni and Raphael Mechoulam succeeded in identifying the structure of Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). Interest in the plant was newly discovered, and in the early 1990s led to the discovery of the endocannabinoid system (ECS), an endogenous cannabinoid system with its own cannabinoid receptors and endogenous ligands for these receptors, the endocannabinoids. The ECS owes its name to the unusual fact that the (phyto-)cannabinoids of the cannabis plant were discovered first and the human receptors and ligands only afterwards.

Cannabis in Germany

After the classification of the active ingredient THC ("dronabinol") was first changed from Schedule II to Schedule III in 1998 as a first step towards cannabinoid therapy, the "Act on the Medical Use of Cannabis" finally came into force in 2017, whereby a supply of patients with natural cannabis is given and is reimbursable by the health insurance funds for the first time. Since then, doctors have been allowed to issue a narcotic prescription (BtM prescription) for cannabis flowers, cannabis extracts and cannabis-based medicines, as long as all of the following requirements are met (§ 31 para. 6 SGB V):

  • The patient suffers from a "serious illness"... 
  • Generally accepted treatment options (corresponding to the medical standard) are either not available or cannot be applied due to the disease state and the expected side effects. 
  • There is a medical, realistic reason to believe that the prescription will have a noticeable positive effect on the course of the disease or on serious symptoms.

A special feature for patients, when prescribing, is the so-called "approval proviso". In contrast to the usual procedure, the patient must submit an application for cost coverage to the relevant health insurance company before the first prescription is filled. After receipt of the application, the health insurance company has three weeks to make a decision, with the possibility of an extension to 5 weeks. (A special case here is outpatient palliative care, in which case a decision must be made by the health insurance company after only 3 days).

However, approval of the assumption of costs by the health insurance funds is not a mandatory prerequisite for the prescription; the patient can assume the costs of the drug himself after a prescription on a private narcotic prescription.

Regulation of cannabinoid therapy in Germany

1998

Change of classification of dronabinol, (-)-trans-Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol, from Schedule II to Schedule III of the BtM.

2000

Decision of the Federal Constitutional Court, according to which patients can apply to the BfArM for an exceptional permission to use cannabis flowers (2 BvR 2382-2389/99)

2000-2005

Denials of all patient requests for such waivers.

2005

Ruling of the Federal Constitutional Court according to which the BfArM may not reject these applications across the board (BVerwG 3 C 17.04)

2007

First exemption by the Federal Opium Agency at the BfArM, initially for a cannabis extract, later mainly for cannabis flowers.

2016

Ruling of the Federal Constitutional Court according to which a patient must be granted an exemption for self-cultivation of cannabis flowers (BVerwG 3 C 10.14)

Draft bill of the Federal Government on the amendment of narcotics law provisions on cannabis and cannabis-based medicines

2017

Entry into force of the law on the medical use of cannabis (Bundestag printed paper 18/10902)

Source: Grothenhermen/Häußermann Cannabis. Prescription guide for physicians 2019

Botany

Like the hops present in beer, cannabis is a genus of the Cannabaceae family. Of this dioecious (bisexual) plant, both the male and female plants bear flowers, but the therapeutically interesting cannabinoids are only present in sufficient quantity in the female plant. Unisexual varieties of cannabis also exist, but are not of medicinal interest as they are used with low cannabinoid content as commercial hemp for e.g. textiles or oil. These strains may not exceed a THC content of 0.2%, so that no abuse can take place.

Although the genus of the cannabis plant is monotypical, the public usually distinguishes between 3 "species": Cannabis sativa, Cannabis indica and Cannabis ruderalis. Cannabis ruderalis stands out with a very low THC and very high CBD content. 

Differences Sativa - Indica

Art Effects
cannabis sativa Psychoactive "Head High"
Stimulating and energetic
May may cause hallucinogenic effects
Feeling of Optimism and well-being
Particularly suitable for Suitable for use during the day
cannabis indica Physical High
Serves the Relaxation and stress reduction
General Sense of calm and serenity
Particularly suitable for suitable for use in the evening and against insomnia

However, the taxonomic difference between Cannabis Indica and Cannabis Sativa is not determined by the THC or CBD content, the complete "fingerprint" of the plant is crucial here: the chemical profile of all present cannabinoids (120 identified, as of 2019) and terpenes (>100 identified in Cannabis, as of 2019). The selection of a strain for medicinal use is dependent on THC and CBD content rather than chemical constellation. The taxonomic classification however does not assign any importance to the two main cannabinoids, the chemical background of this classification is still controversial. Originally the difference lies in the type of cultivation, but it is assumed that the chemical difference between the two varieties lies in the prevalence of the more unknown cannabinoids CBG (cannabigerol) and CBC (cannabichrome), as well as in the characteristic terpene profiles. Besides cannabinoids and terpenes, the plant is composed of amino acids, proteins, sugars, alcohols, fatty acids and flavonoids.

Sources Botany:
Hillig, K. W., & Mahlberg, P. G. (2004). A chemotaxonomic analysis of cannabinoid variation in Cannabis (Cannabaceae). American journal of botany, 91(6), 966-975.
Russo, E. B. (2007). History of cannabis and its preparations in saga, science, and sobriquet. Chemistry & biodiversity, 4(8), 1614-1648.
Turner, C. E., Elsohly, M. A., & Boeren, E. G. (1980). Constituents of Cannabis sativa L. XVII. a review of the natural constituents. Journal of Natural Products, 43(2), 169-234.

Scroll to Top
Our THC/CBD combination test in a multi-pack of 10 or 20 pieces.

NEW: From 15.11.2022 the FARMAKO THC/CBD Combitest is available in multi-packs at a special price.
Save 20% already from 10 pieces!
For orders until 09.12.2022 you will receive an additional 5% on the special price.

Kurz erklärt

Medizinisches Cannabis – Geschichte und Botanik.

Die Nutzung von Phytocannabinoiden als Therapieform ist nichts Neues. Hier finden sie eine kurze Zusammenfassung der spannenden Historie dieser einzigartigen Pflanze sowie eine Erläuterung ihrer botanischen Eigenschaften.

Geschichte

Eine der ältesten Heilpflanzen – Genutzt, vergessen und wiederentdeckt.

Die Cannabispflanze (Cannabis Sativa L.) ist eine ältesten Heilpflanzen der Welt und wird schon seit Jahrtausenden von unterschiedlichsten Völkern und Kulturen für therapeutische und kultische Zwecke genutzt. Die älteste Verschreibung wurde 1500 v.Chr. in Ägypten im Ebers Papyrus gefunden – Ein Umschlag mit Cannabis Sativa für ophtalmologische Zwecke und gegen Entzündungen. Der erste niedergeschriebene therapeutische Gebrauch in Europa wurde 1840 von einem irischen Arzt namens William O’Shaughnessy durchgeführt. Das Interesse an der potenten Heilpflanze ging jedoch wieder verloren. Fehlendes Wissen über die exakte Zusammensetzung und die Wirkstoffe führte dazu, dass es keinen gemeinsamen Konsens über eine korrekte Dosierung gab. Häufige Über- und Unterdosierungen führten zu einer allgemeinen Unsicherheit gegenüber dem therapeutischen Nutzen der Pflanze. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde der allgemeine Fokus wieder darauf gerichtet, die chemische Struktur der Cannabispflanze genau zu analysieren und die Wirkmechanismen der Pflanze zu identifizieren. Die chemische Zusammensetzung der Pflanze machte dies jedoch nicht leicht: unterschiedlichste Cannabinoide mit sehr ähnlichen chemischen Strukturen stellten die damalige Technologie vor eine große Herausforderung. 1964 schließlich gelang es den israelischen Wissenschaftlern Yehiel Gaoni und Raphael Mechoulam die Struktur von Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) zu identifizieren. Das Interesse an der Pflanze war neu entdeckt, und führte Anfang der 90er Jahre zu der Entdeckung des Endocannabinoidsystems (ECS), ein körpereigenes Cannabinoidsystem mit eigenen Cannabinoidrezeptoren und körpereigenen Liganden für diese Rezeptoren, die Endocannabinoide. Seinen Namen verdankt das ECS dem ungewöhnlichen Fakt, dass erst die (Phyto-)cannabinoide der Cannabispflanze entdeckt wurden und die humanen Rezeptoren und Liganden erst danach.

Cannabis in Deutschland

Nachdem als erster Schritt in Richtung Cannabinoid-Therapie die Einstufung des Wirkstoffs THC („Dronabinol“) erstmals 1998 von Anlage II in die Anlage III geändert wurde, ist 2017 letztlich das „Gesetz zur medizinischen Verwendung von Cannabis“ in Kraft getreten, wodurch eine Versorgung von Patienten mit natürlichem Cannabis gegeben und erstmalig durch die Krankenkassen erstattungsfähig ist. Ärzte dürfen seitdem ein Betäubungsmittelrezept (BtM-Rezept) für Cannabisblüten, Cannabisextrakte und cannabisbasierte Medikamente ausstellen, solange gegeben ist dass alle der folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden (§ 31 Abs. 6 SGB V):

  • Der Patient leidet an einer „schwerwiegenden Erkrankung“ 
  • Allgemein anerkannte (dem medizinischen Standard entsprechenden) Therapieoptionen sind entweder nicht verfügbar oder können aufgrund des Krankheitszustands und der zu erwartenden Nebenwirkungen nicht zur Anwendung kommen 
  • Es besteht ein medizinischer, realistischer Grund zur Annahme dass durch die Verschreibung eine spürbar positive Einwirkung auf den Krankheitsverlauf oder schwerwiegende Symptome zu erwarten ist

Eine Besonderheit für die Patienten, bei der Verschreibung, ist der sogenannte „Genehmigungsvorbehalt“. Anders als üblich muss der Patient vor der ersten Rezepteinlösung bei seiner zuständigen Krankenkasse einen Antrag auf Kostenübernahme stellen. Nach Antragseingang hat die Krankenkasse drei Wochen Zeit eine Entscheidung zu fällen, mit Möglichkeit einer Verlängerung auf 5 Wochen. (Ein Spezialfall stellt hier die ambulante Palliativmedizin dar, in dessen Fall muss eine Entscheidung seitens der Krankenkasse bereits nach 3 Tagen gefällt werden.)

Eine Bewilligung der Kostenübernahme durch die Krankenkassen ist allerdings keine verpflichtende Voraussetzung für die Verordnung, der Patient kann nach einer Verschreibung auf einem privaten Betäubungsmittelrezept die Kosten des Arzneimittels selbst übernehmen.

Regulierung der Cannabinoid-Therapie in Deutschland

1998

Änderung der Einstufung von Dronabinol, (-)-trans-Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinol, von der Anlage II in die Anlage III des BtM

2000

Beschluss des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, nach dem Patienten einen Antrag auf eine Ausnahmeerlaubnis zur Verwendung von Cannabisblüten beim BfArM stellen können (2 BvR 2382-2389/99)

2000-2005

Ablehnungen aller Anträge von Patienten auf eine solche Ausnahmeerlaubnis.

2005

Urteil des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, nach dem das BfArM diese Anträge nicht pauschal ablehnen darf (BVerwG 3 C 17.04)

2007

Erste Ausnahmeerlaubnis durch die Bundesopiumstelle beim BfArM, zunächst für einen Cannabisextrakt, später überwiegend für Cannabisblüten

2016

Urteil des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, nach dem einem Patienten eine Ausnahmeerlaubnis für den Eigenanbau von Cannabisblüten erteilt werden muss (BVerwG 3 C 10.14)

Gesetzentwurf der Bundesregierung zur Veränderung betäubungsmittelrechtlicher Bestimmungen zu Cannabis und cannabisbasierten Medikamenten

2017

Inkrafttreten des Gesetzes zur medizinischen Verwendung von Cannabis (Bundestagsdrucksache 18/10902)

Quelle: Grothenhermen/Häußermann Cannabis. Verordnungshilfe für Ärzte 2019

Botanik

Wie auch der im Bier vorhandene Hopfen ist Cannabis eine Gattung der Cannabaceae-Familie. Von dieser diözischen (zweigeschlechtlichen) Pflanze tragen sowohl die männlichen als auch die weiblichen Pflanzen Blüten, allerdings sind die therapeutisch interessanten Cannabinoide nur in der weiblichen Pflanze in ausreichender Menge vorhanden. Eingeschlechtliche Sorten von Cannabis existieren ebenfalls, sind jedoch nicht von medizinischem Interesse da sie als mit geringem Cannabinoidgehalt als Nutzhanf für zB. Textilien oder Öl verwendet werden. Diese Sorten dürfen einen THC Anteil von 0,2% nicht überschreiten, sodass kein Missbrauch stattfinden kann.

Obwohl die Gattung der Cannabispflanze monotypisch ist, wird in der Öffentlichkeit zumeist unterschieden zwischen 3 „Arten“: Cannabis sativa, Cannabis indica sowie Cannabis ruderalis.  Hierbei sticht Cannabis ruderalis mit einem sehr geringen THC und sehr hohem CBD Gehalt heraus. 

Unterschiede Sativa - Indica

Art Effekte
Cannabis Sativa Psychoaktives „Kopf-High“
Stimulierend und energetisch
Kann halluzinogene Effekte hervorrufen
Gefühl von Optimismus und Wohlbefinden
Besonders für den Gebrauch tagsüber geeignet
Cannabis Indica Körperliches High
Dient der Entspannung und Stressreduktion
Allgemeines Gefühl von Ruhe und Gelassenheit
Besonders für den Gebrauch abends und gegen Schlaflosigkeit geeignet

Der taxonomische Unterschied zwischen Cannabis Indica und Cannabis Sativa wird allerdings nicht durch den THC- oder CBD- Gehalt bestimmt, der komplette „Fingerabdruck“ der Pflanze ist hier entscheidend: das chemische Profil aller vorhandenen Cannabinoide (120 identifiziert, Stand 2019) und Terpene (>100 in Cannabis identifiziert, Stand 2019). Die Auswahl einer Sorte für die medizinische Verwendung ist abhängig vom THC und CBD Gehalt und nicht von der chemischen Konstellation. Die taxonomische Zuteilung allerdings weist den beiden Hauptcannabinoiden allerdings keine Wichtigkeit zu, der chemische Hintergrund dieser Einteilung ist noch stets umstritten. Ursprünglich liegt der Unterschied in der Art des Anbaus,  es wird allerdings vermutet dass der chemische Unterschied der beiden Sorten in der Prävalenz der unbekannteren Cannabinoide CBG (Cannabigerol) und CBC (Cannabichrom) liegt, sowie auf die charakteristischen Terpenprofile. Neben Cannabinoiden und Terpenen setzt sich die Pflanze noch zusammen aus Aminosäuren, Proteinen, Zucker, Alkoholen, Fettsäuren und Flavonoiden.

Quellen Botanik:
Hillig, K. W., & Mahlberg, P. G. (2004). A chemotaxonomic analysis of cannabinoid variation in Cannabis (Cannabaceae). American journal of botany, 91(6), 966-975.
Russo, E. B. (2007). History of cannabis and its preparations in saga, science, and sobriquet. Chemistry & biodiversity, 4(8), 1614-1648.
Turner, C. E., Elsohly, M. A., & Boeren, E. G. (1980). Constituents of Cannabis sativa L. XVII. A review of the natural constituents. Journal of Natural Products, 43(2), 169-234.

Scroll to Top

Das neue THC-Testkit zur Identitätsprüfung von medizinischem Cannabis in Apotheken.